yarn along trois

i really like blogging on wednesdays, thanks to small things๐Ÿ™‚ she hosts the yarn along, so pop on over there to see what everyone else is reading and knitting today. here is what i’m currently reading and knitting.

what i'm reading and knitting

so, which do you think i’m doing more of? turns out, NONE! i mean, i’m reading and knitting, just not enough of either activity to make a dent yet. i have finals coming up, some homework to finish, and…a paper due on Monday. you might have been able to tell that from the picture though. i’m not all that crazy into reading about time management (at least, not 5 books all at once into it). the top book is my fun and interesting book. i read the corrections when it came out a while ago, and i enjoyed it. of course, i’m not far enough into this book (just like last week…) to give a good synopsis. the knitting at the top is a plain vanilla sock, out of knitpicks felici. the bottom knitting is the 2nd in a pair of mitts out of leftover casbah sock. the links go to my ravelry project page if you want more information. i have to say, i love the mitt pattern (and the yarn). it is easy, fun, and looks nice.

i’ve been using my time to focus on understanding things like depreciation methods, impairments, cost allocations, stuff like that…i’d rather be knitting:) well, that isn’t entirely true. i do like accounting. i just wish i was able to use what i’m learning so that i don’t forget it before the next class. i guess i would like to have a part-time job where i’m applying what i’ve learned so far. that would be ideal for me. maybe when we move back to the united states…for now, i’ve got to focus my time on understanding the material.

so, i got up kind of early this morning. and since i was up, i decided to do some educational reading for a while. but then, i needed a break. so i decided to organize some yarn:) we went to ikea this weekend because i need more yarn storage. we found these nice bookcases for a good price, and they have glass doors:) to keep the moths out! i’m a little itty bitty paranoid about moths. i never open the window in the “yarn/library room,” and i keep the door closed unless i’m in the room. so, i pulled all of this yarn out of the various bags it was in and put it away. as i was doing this, i started to feel…bad. like, i might really have too much yarn bad. i feel like yarn hoarding might be something i could possibly be guilty of.

yarn storage

i started to feel like i should have kept the yarn in the bags, it seemed less…abundant that way. and i still have another bookcase to put to use. BUT…it would really just allow me to organize the yarn i do have further. i don’t have more bags to put away. the bookcase i organized this morning is accompanied by two single bookcases, with their own yarn, but that is way old yarn. like, i’ve had that other yarn for a while, so i’m used to it, and i don’t feel guilty about it (too much). today’s yarn is yarn i have acquired over the past year and a half. i don’t know if that makes me feel better though…so i think i will have to institute some kind of system. i know i can’t say that i won’t buy any more yarn. but i need to use a significant amount of what i have before making further purchases. i’ll have to think on this some…

This entry was posted in knitting, reading, school. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to yarn along trois

  1. accountantgrrl says:

    I took Accounting courses while I was working full-time and your’re right. It’s much better when you can actually practice what it is that you’re learning. Good luck with the studying. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Nice knitting and great book selection. I love your storage cabinet!

  2. Tracey says:

    Oh, I do not like accounting which is really funny because not only do I homeschool I am what…an accountant for my husband’s business. I love the shot of all of your yarn. I am going to show it to my husband so he won’t think I am the only one you has a stast.
    Warmly,
    Tracey

  3. Mj says:

    I heart your yarn stash!!!!

  4. suddenexpression says:

    Shall I remind you that the new shelf is only 1/3….ok, maybe half of all the yarn you have! That’s alot of yarn…..I did the opposite of you. I put mine up and felt like I had less than I originally thought!

  5. That bookcase looks VERY LIKE MINE!!!! I seem to be doing a bit of this, and a bit of that all the time at the moment too… slowly edging forwards…!

  6. Amy V says:

    Dropping in as part of Yarn Along to say “hi”. I love your yarn!

  7. Mags says:

    Nah, that’s not really hoarding. It all fits into one cupboard.

    And I SO know what you’re talking about with the accounting stuff. We’re doing consolidation and whatnot else in Advanced Bookkeeping right now, and it is really valuable to practice it a few times.

  8. Jen Letts says:

    Yarn breeds like rabbits, I’m telling ya! I recently put all my yarn from all over the place into one storage container and was pretty impressed too. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Angela says:

    That’s one amazing yarn stash! I just finished Freedom a couple of months ago. Your stack of books reminds me of being in school and having to be doing so many things at once!

  10. Rachel says:

    Holy yarn stash!! The cabinet is so much nicer than plastic bags for showing it all off!

  11. Tammy says:

    Nice stash…I definetly have a yarn hoarding problem…but I have a Hubs whose an enabler…and well…..I enjoy the yarn….

    Love the cabinet, wish I could do something like that…..my yarn is in plastic crates…

Leave a Reply

