yarn along deux

I participated in the yarn along that small things hosts on Wednesdays a few weeks ago and I really enjoyed it. I love to read and knit, so why not combine the two when possible? I still don’t know how people hold their kindle and knit at the same time, but I honestly haven’t really tried it yet. I guess I could just set it next to me and hit the next page button when ready, but somehow I think my knitting would suffer…

From small things:

Two of my favorite things are knitting and reading, and the evidence of this often shows up in my photographs. I love seeing what other people are knitting and reading as well. So, what are you knitting or crocheting right now? What are you reading?

Laura and I are doing a mini kal for Hannah Fettig’s Lettuce Pullover. Now…since I started this project I’ve been feeling pretty pretty, as The Knitmore Girls would say. First, my swatch was weird, and I don’t know why…I am using a size 3.5 mm needle because I got 7 stitches to the inch. However, when I measured across the 4 inch swatch, it measured more like 30 stitches to 4 inches…yet again, when I counted the stitches for an inch (in various spots) I had 7 stitches…I know I’m missing something, but I don’t know what. Anyhow, once I decided to cast on (yesterday) I was also confused by the errata provided for this pattern. I’m hoping I’ll have an a-ha moment as I continue on…because I’m sure it will become clear to me as I progress…I hope! In the errata for this pattern it mentions that the neck shaping begins when the yoke measures 6 1/4 inches. However I’m wondering how do I determine this?? I mean, Do I measure from my cast-on edge out? Do I measure the depth of the piece held up around my neck? Or maybe I’m thinking too hard? The thing is, I’m not even sure what is considered neck shaping in this pattern. We’ll see how it goes…I can say, I love the color of the yarn I’m using (I have no idea what color it is, it is from a Wollmeise We’re Different Batch). I also have a ton of it! It took almost 30 minutes to wind, and I had to do just the last bit by hand.

As far as the book I’m reading, I am really enjoying it so far. My Aunt gave me a book a few years ago “For the Rest of Her Life,” by Laura Moriarty. I read it in 2009, and again a few weeks ago (thinking I’d already read it, but never being quite sure until almost the very end, so I kept on). After reading that book, I ordered “The Center of Everything,” same author. I really enjoyed it, so much that I think I read it in under a week. So now I’m onto this book, again by Laura Moriarty, “While I’m Falling.” I’m just into the 3rd chapter and it is pretty good so far. It starts off in a surprising manner, and hasn’t slowed down yet. Out of the 2 that I’ve already finished, I’d recommend “The Center of Everything” over “For the Rest of Her Life.” All of these books deal with different types of mother/daughter relationships. The links I provided above go to library thing, with some reviews by people who have read these books. I didn’t read what they’ve said about the one I’m currently reading. I like to be surprised:)

Check out what everyone else is reading and knitting over at small things 🙂

This entry was posted in knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to yarn along deux

  1. Kristi says:

    oh I love that pattern and yarn! Blue is so pretty right now!

  2. Charity says:

    I like that pattern, and I think it will look great in the yarn you chose! 🙂

  3. Mags says:

    Oooh, that blue is fabulous!

    I love finding authors you enjoy reading. There’s something fun about waiting for new book releases that way,

Leave a Reply

