taking the plunge

I am finally using some of the Wollmeise Sockenwolle 80/20 Twin that I picked up in the awesome sale last year, in what I think mayyyyy  be the Kuerbis colorway? But don’t quote me on that. I have been wanting to post for a while, but I’m reluctant to do so without any photos. And the light here has not been on my side, at least, not while I’ve been here. We’ve gone on a few snowboarding trips this month already, so there hasn’t been a ton of knitting going on. I’m working on my first sweater though for my 11 garments goal of 2011, and there are a few socks on the needles as well. But I couldn’t resist any further and decided to cast on Devon (cookie a, from sock innovation). As you can see, I just cast on. The sweater is my main focus, but it is just the bottom of the body at this point, which would make for a rather dull picture, and it is in a silver gray color. It has a colorful yoke, but I’m waiting on the

early stages of devon

colors to arrive in the mail, so I started on the sleeves last night. Maybe that is why I had to had to had to go ahead and put Devon on the needles. So far, this yarn is as delicious to knit with as it is to look at, smell, and feel:)

beaded cast off

I also finished a gift for someone (last year), but finally was able to get some pictures. But I am only going to post a small picture of the edge. Can you see the beads? I think I did pretty good matching beads to yarn using the interwebs as my “store”. You might have to click on the picture to see the detail.

Another goal of mine this year is to keep these posts a little shorter than some of the previous ones. I get a little wordy, but maybe I can be shorter and sweeter this year? 🙂 On the snowboarding front, I finally am comfortable to try and carve toe-side!! Thanks to a friend who was behind me for about 3 runs in a row, constantly telling me to switch from left to right, and so on. It was pretty awesome, and yeah. I’m no where near as good as the rest of the group, but I feel a lot more confident on my toes, and going “backwards” down the mountain.  One more thing to note, Little Big Planet 2 came out this week, and it is pretty cool:) It is a little more challenging than the first one, but it looks better (not that the first one didn’t look good), and there is one level (I have watched Dana play it a LOT) where everything is bakery themed…yeah, that isn’t good at all. I go to bed craving cupcakes, cookies, cakes, pie, chocolate, yeah…totally blaming the game on that. Tootles:)

This entry was posted in knitting, snowboarding, video games. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to taking the plunge

  1. fru says:

    I cannot wait to see how your sweater goodness turns out!!! I know it’s gonna be awesome!

  2. Tammy says:

    the edging looks great and I love the color of the wollmeise

  3. Lina says:

    Yummy Wollmeise! I can’t wait to see your Devons more knit up! And LOL at the Little Big Planet sweet cravings… I’m sure you can blame it on the game all you like but who doesn’t always want chocolate? 😉

  4. KnitterInPink says:

    Ohhhh my gosh. Wollmeise…. *drool* So awesome!!

  5. Mags says:

    The beads match the yarn wonderfully! Good choice 😀

    Devon is so pretty. The socks are going to be real knock outs in that colourway.

    Can’t wait to see the sweater!

  6. anniknits says:

    You knit beautifully! I love the bright orange colorway of Devon!

Leave a Reply

