wrappity wrap wrap…

I’ve been working on the wrought iron knee socks shown here. But when I got to the heel turn, I screwed up. I started the heel turn yesterday morning. I re-worked it a few times throughout the day. I kept scratching my head, plugging in numbers on the calculator, and I opened up Excel to graph it out because my brain wasn’t getting it. I couldn’t figure out what I was doing wrong.

I have made enough socks to know that when you turn the heel, you should have an equal amount of stitches on either side of your center stitches when you start the heel flap, but I kept ending up with 7 on one side and 14 on the other. Finally, I said to hell with it, and I knit so that I had an equal amount of stitches on either side. When I was done with the heel flap, I should have had 33 stitches, and then I was supposed to increase 2 stitches evenly to end up with a total of 35 stitches for the back of the leg. Of course, since I did it my Own Way, I had to increase 8 stitches evenly. No biggie.

I tried it on and it fit. It seemed as though there were some biggish holes on either side of the heel flap when I continued knitting the back of the leg, and the area where I had increased to make the little heel pocket was kinda weird looking, but I was so over it (it was like 10:30 at night). I planned on sewing up the holes when I finished the sock, and decided not to worry about the weirdness (I always say stuff like this to myself, but I am never able to follow through). Before I went to bed last night, I looked at another sock book, Toe-Up! Patterns and Worksheets to Whip Your Sock Knitting Into Shape, by Chrissy Gardiner. This is the book I used to make the Gull Wing socks. I was trying to see what I was missing because I knew my heel turn was off, but I swear I couldn’t figure it out.

cujo enjoys naps on the couch and knitting as well

When I woke up this morning it hit me. In the pattern I’m using it says to “knit each wrap together with the stitch it wraps.” In Chrissy Gardiner’s book it says to “lift each wrap”. I jumped out of bed to tink back my sock to before the heel turn. I had just k2tog where I had a wrapped stitch which explains the weirdness and the fact that I had the wrong amount of stitches, and an incredibly small heel flap. Have you had any ah-ha moments like this? Leave a comment, I’ll do a random pick and send you a treat.

This entry was posted in cujo, knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to wrappity wrap wrap…

  1. suddenexpression says:

    I always have “aha” moments. Sometimes they are even in knitting. I always knit my wraps with the stitch. One of my patterns said to do that once, and from then on I did it because I liked how the heels looked more. I can’t wait to see these finished socks. I’m so jealous of your sock progress. I’ve been working on the same ones forever!

  2. Nicole Kent says:

    ALL the time. If something isn’t working I just set the knitting aside and come back later. When I pick it up again I usually find it was something so simple I can’t believe it didn’t click the first time. And usually after I have already spent a bunch of time figuring out a way to “fix” it!

  3. Dina says:

    Happens all the time. Sometimes I read too much into a pattern rather than just trusting the pattern and doing what it says. I’m a little stubborn that way πŸ™‚

  4. accountantgrrl says:

    Yep. It was when I was working on my Ishbel shawl. I looked ahead at the first chart and could not figure out how I was going to end up with eight stitches before the center one when, in fact, it should be ten. I woke up at 3:00 in the morning one morning and thought, “You dumbass! You’re counting the yarnovers!”

  5. Only occasionally. Usually, I have to carry my broken knitting over to my guru neighbor so she can give me the a-ha moment. I’m getting better, though and can some times figure out stuff on my own. Nice to have you back, by the way — I missed reading your posts!

  6. fridica says:

    Unfortunately at the moment I can’t think of a particular a-ha moment I had in knitting, though there have been plenty, I know! I completely commiserate on the short rows, though, because they have been my bane for a long while… I think I’m finally understanding them now, though, and that’s been a gigantic relief for me! They are so handy!

  7. knittaroo says:

    I’ve had that happen with short row shaping too, when I was knitting the Annis shawl. I’d never done short rows before and the instructions just made no sense to me when I read them because I didn’t understand why I should turn anywhere else than the central stitch. I like to understand how things work but all I could think was “the instructions must be wrong”. In the end I decided to just follow the instructions step by step and see what would happen, and of course it worked (and I became an instant fan of short row shaping).

  8. Amy V says:

    My “aha moment” happened last year when I learned to knit socks. I had a mental block for several years thinking a) I could not do it and b) I’d not enjoy it. I couldn’t have been more wrong!

  9. LizzieK8 says:

    The Eureka! moment is something that happens all the time. Generally when I’m in a half waking state or consumed with some other big problem. Many of mine come about when I figure out I can use one technique somewhere else. Or that I don’t have to follow the directions and can strike out on my own!

  10. Rachel says:

    oh I do love the AHA! moment — usually I get those when I’m working something fiddly that is incredibly hard to tink back

  11. i had to tink back a lot with using charts. I just started knitting last march (2010) and right now i work on a gail (nightsong) shawl that very different than anything i every done. I got really confused when starting the 2nd pattern repeat and a friend helped tink back 4 rows causes i forced the repeats to fit the whole pattern not just when the repeats were marked.

  12. Amanda B. says:

    Like many of the other commenters, I usually have A-HA! moments when I put something in time out for a while and the solution sneaks up on me when I’m not focused on it. I was making the CocoKnits Ballet Flats recently and the short rows on the front of the foot were driving me bonkers. I reread the instructions to the point of near memorization, except for the first turn at the beginning. Thankfully I was at my knitting group so everyone could share in my A-HA!

  13. Daizycraft says:

    I am working on my 2nd ever pair of socks and was very frustrated by the heel turn, and working the short rows. Had the darndest time getting that even number of stitches on either side situation. Must have tinked it back at least half a dozen times. Then as I was re-reading the pattern for the umpteenth time, I realized that I had read how to do the heel flap wrong. So then tinked that back, reworked the flap, worked the turn just fine and then got stuck on the gusset. Here I suppose I should also mention, I am also teaching myself to do two at a time on two circulars. Couldn’t for the life of me figure out how to do the gusset part so I just added a 3rd circular, worked my gussets one sock at a time until I had one sock on one circ and one on the other, then transferred them back to the 2AAT situation, and now, I am starting the toes finally! Socks are not easy but fun and I’m learning a lot!

  14. Cindy says:

    Why do a-ha! moments always come in the wee wee hours? I never seem to have them at, say, noon.

  15. Heather says:

    I am working on several sweaters this year, and one was moving along very well until I needed to split for the arms. I could not figure out why I had 10 fewer stitches than I needed, when I had had enough for the body. Split, fudged a bit, and then realized that I had switched sizes and gone up a size, hence missing the 10 stitches. Oops.

    Also, the first time I did short row toes I had no idea how it was going to work, and it was definitely an A-HA moment when I realized what was happening.

  16. MonicaPDX says:

    I re-taught myself to knit from the first edition of Jacqueline Fee’s A Sweater Workshop, and remember getting stumped on something about halfway through the sampler. There were several of us at work making it together, and a few of us were muttering about the same thing, when one person said, “But it’s really easy!” We looked at her, and she said, “You just do exactly what the instructions say.” Aha moment. Stop trying to think it through, just do it!

    I still try to overthink things. Sometimes I swear, I should simply stop reading ahead in patterns and stick to doing things as I come to them. πŸ˜‰

  17. AmyLovesRed says:

    My ah-ha moment was with short rows– I just couldn’t understand turning before finishing my row πŸ™‚ Thank you you tube!

    Also my Gramma tried to teach me Kitchener sts once and it confused me, but seeing step by step photo instructions helped a lot. If at first you cannot learn, try a different way!

  18. Pat says:

    I think anyone who knits has had an aha moment. I know I certainly have. Sometimes you can’t believe it is so simple and why didn’t you think of it before.

  19. Cienna2000 says:

    I’m a fairly new knitter but have tons of crochet experience. I haven’t decided if that helps or hinders me yet.

    A recent “aha” moment for me was learning how to do a pattern that calls for *slip stitch, k1, yo, PSSO” and the importance of counting my stitches at the end of the row. It’s amazing how much better everything looks and how the stitch count is correct when you actually remember to do the YO.

  20. JuliaA says:

    Crochet never made any sense to me, and I tried several times over the years to learn, but I just couldn’t catch on.

    And then one day it just made sense. And now, crochet is easy.

    I have yet to have my a-ha moment with Kitchener stitch, despite YouTube videos.

  21. I almost always confuse myself by thinking too hard about patterns. I’m so desperate to do it PERFECT that I get all caught up in nonexistent details

  22. I have them all the time too, if I’m following a pattern or chart, I find it more helpful to just do what my instinct tells me to do, if I focus too much on the instructions I’ll mess up because I’m paying *too much* attention rather than not enough. Kind of like driving, you know? If I just do what feels right, usually it works out πŸ™‚

  23. Tammy says:

    I’m catching up this week. last night I had 24 parent conferences is 6 hours. I took today off, not feeling well…..but been busy with report cards, etc, so catching up on blogging…

    No a-ha moments I can think off, but since I’m learning to knit to knit socks, I like reading posts when people talk about knitting socks and the issues/challenges.

    Back to bed, as it’s 2:30 am here…

Leave a Reply

