progress report:)

I’ve finished 3 projects, and started on one more. Whoo-hoo! First, I finished the scarf I was making for the man in the basement. I totally changed it up though. Both my husband and I had pretty bad jet lag for over a week when we came back to Germany. We couldn’t sleep for more than 2 or 3 hours at a time, and never after 10 at night it seemed. I was pretty exhausted and wanted to knit, but I couldn’t concentrate too much (which made statistics even more fun than usual).

merry christmas for the man in the basement

The fact that I changed this scarf to be all garter stitch is kind of ironic because I started out wanting to make a scarf that wouldn’t be boring to me. This pattern is from the book Last Minute Knitted Gifts by Joelle Hoverson. It is called Men’s Rustic Scarf, and in the book it is done in earthy colors. I changed it up a little bit by casting on more stitches and doing only 10 rows of each color. I think it came out very nice. The finished scarf is 5 1/2″ wide and 80″ long. Not bad since it is going to a man who is over 6 feet tall. I used less than 2 skeins of each color of Boston, by Schachenmayr nomotta yarn, a 30% wool, 70% acrylic blend, on size US 11 needles. This was a super fast knit, and I like how it turned out.

I also finished a pair of socks for me, and a pair for my husband. I worked on mine while traveling, because I used The Knitmore Girls Vanilla Sock pattern (the pattern is available on the right hand side of their blog). I modified it a little for my comfort, and also I originally intended to make a pair of knee socks for myself. However, I realized very soon after casting on that I didn’t have enough yarn for knee socks, so I kept on for a pair that have a 6″ leg. I am surprised how much I like these socks.

my plain jane sox

The colors and the fit are awesome. They even fit with my regular converse shoes, which is an added bonus.

I also finished a pair of socks for my husband. This is the only picture (of only the first sock) because he put them on as soon as I finished them, and I didn’t get a picture of both socks. Mostly because of the light situation here. Once it is dark out, forget it. He is pleased with how they turned out, and so am I. They were easy and quick as well.

cauchy sox for dana

This pattern is Cauchy from Cookie A’s book, Sock Innovation. I didn’t do the picot edge…my guy isn’t all that into the feminine details:) I really do want to knit myself a pair of knee socks though. I wear them all the time, and when we go snowboarding, they are an extra layer of warmth. I realized there are only 2 types of yarn that I have enough of to make a pair though…so I decided to use the World Ball Color by Regia that I have 2 skeins of. I also have my knitting mojo back so I didn’t want to knit endless stockinette for these. I ordered Toe-Up Socks for Every Body by Wendy D. Johnson a while ago, and I finally received it last week. I like all the patterns in this book! I wouldn’t have known that though without watching The Knitgirllls video-podcast (you can watch on their blog, or on itunes). A while ago they did a book review and I just couldn’t stop thinking about the patterns they showed. So, now I am knitting Wrought-Iron Socks and Knee Socks from this book.

snowboarding knee socks

The more I work on these, the more addictive they get! The cabling is simple, and fairly quick, for working with size 0 mm and 2.50 mm needles. Here is my progress so far:) And the pattern that really made me want this book is called Norwegian rose socks (rav link). I saw Leslie’s (from the knitgirllls) and I fell in love with the pattern.

This entry was posted in knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to progress report:)

  1. suddenexpression says:

    Awsome progress. I really love the color of your vanilla socks. I think I have to get some of that!

  2. Dina says:

    Wow! You have been busy. Congrats on all the FO’s

  3. Leslie says:

    You’re a sock knitting machine, look at you go! All of the socks look great. The Norwegian Rose’s are a great intro to colorwork, you should definitely give them a try!

  4. pip says:

    I love your vanilla socks… and your snowboarding knee socks are going to be cool!

  5. Tammy says:

    Lovely – look at all those socks! I bookmarked the podcasts to revisit them…thanks!

  6. Heather says:

    Congrats on finishing so many projects! Love the Cauchy in particular, and the Plane Jane yarn is gorgeous!

  7. Pingback: Belated Once Again « Suddenexpression's Blog

Leave a Reply

