grand finale

I am sad to post that the final swap package is to be revealed today. This swap was so much fun! A huge Thank You to Eskimimi for organizing this! It was great fun, and also my first swap ever. Another huge Thank You to Susie, for being an awesome swap partner. And then finally, I had a wonderful time putting together my swap package for Mags! She’s blogging about it here. Go ahead, check it out! She even included a video today:) Way cool! And then if you like, you can read about the process of this gift here! So, today’s package is not 1, not 2, but 3!! yes, 3 knitting magazines.

knitting magazines from the UK!

 

I have been quite busy with school and so I have only briefly looked through 2 of them, the other is still in its package. But already I have found a few things that I’ll need to add to my Ravelry queue. I have really enjoyed my presents:) I haven’t even tried the tea yet, but I may have to break into that tomorrow while working on one more mid-term! So, here is a picture of the magazines I received. When I first started knitting, I kept hearing about this thing called steeking. And the more I heard about it, the more I thought to myself (and said to a friend) nu-uh. No way. Cut My Knitting?? NOPE. Well, I seem to have a desire to knit something fair isle. Real fair isle. And I finally succumbed to ordering this kit from Knit Picks in grey. But it hasn’t arrived yet. And so I happened to be looking through Yarn forward, the magazine at the front of this group, and noticed the Hildur jacket (Ravelry link). The more I look at it, the more I like it. And something that is cool about this magazine? Next to the pattern information, there is a little box that says yarn alternatives, and there are three categories, save, spend, spoil yourself. I thought that was a pretty cool concept, and I don’t recall seeing this in any other knitting magazine before. Maybe its out there, and I just haven’t seen it, but that little box of yarn alternatives has me sold on this magazine. And the fact that there are at least 4 things from this issue that I would like to knit.

 

steek project #2?

Including this, which means I will end up doing that thing that I didn’t ever think I’d do…like so many other things, right? πŸ™‚ So, I’m thinking the Knit Picks project will be my first steeking project, and this jacket, hopefully it will be my second! Beyond doing lots of homework, taking tests, and dreaming of all the new things I want to knit, I have finished one sock, and started on a scarf for the basement man. The house we live in is broken into two apartments. Or so I thought. After I had been living here for about 3 months, I encountered an older man wearing a wife beater and shorts, and honestly, I don’t know what he was doing, I thought he was the handy-man…anyway, I encountered him in the foyer one day. And I don’t speak german. I know about 10 words (I would love to learn, but I feel that I need to finish my degree first, and I can’t get money to take german language classes since I’ve fulfilled those requirements already). Anyway…when I encountered this man I thought he was just checking things out, making sure things were working properly. I didn’t really understand what he was saying. He knows more english than I german, but still…I really had no clue. I told my husband about meeting the handyman and that was that. Then a month or so later, we realized that this man lives in the basement. The car that is always parked on the street…it wasn’t our downstairs neighbors girlfriend’s car.

K2, P1 rib scarf

It was the basement man’s car. Since then I have learned that he works almost every day, long hours, various shifts, and he is nice. So I decided to make him a scarf for Christmas, with some Regia World Ball Color, in the Deutschland colors:) I hope he likes it. It is going to be one boring knit, but relaxing too. And apologies for the poor lighting of the pictures, that is just one of those things with where we live:) Also, the stitches look a little wonky to me, but I’m hoping after I block it they will even out. I’ll post a picture of the finished sock when there is a 2nd one to go with it:) One more thing before I end this post…I highly recommend that if you don’t already subscribe to the Vogue Knitting website, that you join. It is free. And they have quite a few free patterns on the site. Also, today I got an email notifying me of 19 free patterns from Debbie Stoller’s Stitch Nation. I think I downloaded at least 4 patterns. I mean they are free…what the heck:)

 

 

This entry was posted in blog hub swap, knitting, school. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to grand finale

  1. What a great gift. I will have to see if I can find the Yarn Forward. It looks really good. What a great resource KnitPicks is. I know that they don’t despatch to the UK which is such a shame. I love the cardi kit. It is great.

  2. Kari says:

    What lovely magazines and a great idea about the alternatives for the yarns – like that!

    I too say “no way, I won’t do that” when it comes to more complicated techniques, but then one day I do them, so I have learned to never say never anymore.

    I love the scarf you are knitting for basement man – you are so kind, I bet he will be so touched at such a gesture from you.

    Good luck with your studies!

  3. Oooooh I really like the Hildur jacket. See if I were you, and if I had the technique to do this, I would do the projects the other way around. Even though the Hildur is longer, I would do that first because it looks like it uses one color. I wouldn’t feel comfortable trying to do 8 colors as my first attempt.

    They are both really cute! I say goodluck at Fair Isle!

  4. Susie says:

    I’m so glad you liked the swap package – thanks for being such a great swap recipient (and the grey knitted necktie looks really great on you, I’m glad it suits you so well! πŸ˜‰ ).

    You’re a bit braver than me with the steeking, I daren’t try it yet…

  5. AC says:

    Steeking, now that’s just crazy talk.

Leave a Reply

