hand knit gifts

As I have been mentioning, I participated in a blog-swap, thanks to Eskimimi on Ravelry. Today I’m going to share my 6th package, which I really love. It is absolutely going to be used quite a bit here shortly. But as I was thinking about this gift that I received from Susie, I remembered a sweater I received from my grandmother when I was 16. I didn’t really have an appreciation for the sweater. Don’t get me wrong, I thought it was cool that she knit it, and made it herself and all that. But it wasn’t really my style, and it never came out of my closet. Between then and now, I’ve moved a lot, and each time I make a move, I get rid of at least 1 or more boxes of clothes, but never that sweater.

 

sweater hand knit by my grandma

 

My grandmother was a very special person in my life, and I feel lucky that I got to spend a few of my teenage years living with her. I was thinking about Susie’s gift, and how much I like it, and how much I’m going to use it, when I realized that I have become very fond of hand made items. Not just knit items, but anything hand made. I make my own Christmas cards, and I love to knit gifts for people. But I hadn’t really thought about being on the receiving end of something hand made, or for the purposes of this entry, hand knit. So, after my husband took a few photos of me modeling the gift Susie sent me, I decided to go down to the basement and unpack my grandmother’s gift from so long ago. I tried it on, I have to think for the 2nd time. I’m sure I tried it on when she gave it to me, but I’m also sure that I never put it on after that. She also made one just like this for my sister I remember, but maybe it was in another color? And I remember when she gave it to me, she said that I could change the ribbon out and put in different colors if I wanted to. I thought that was a neat idea, but again, it just wasn’t my style. Just thinking about this sweater, the effort she put into making it, and then my total lack of thankfulness for it makes me feel…not so good. I mean, this is a really nice sweater. I don’t think anyone could look at it and tell it was hand knit, you know what I mean. I turned it inside out and she knit the entire thing flat and then seamed it all together. It looks absolutely perfect. It is a little short in the sleeves for me now (more than 15 years later, go figure), but I think I could still get away with wearing it. I could always push the sleeves up. No one would be the wiser. I was just realizing that when I opened Susie’s gift, I was in total awe and thought to myself, wow, this is really cool! I love the color,

 

hand knit gift from susie

 

and I’ve never seen or owned anything like this before. I’m pretty sure she knit it brioche, if that is the correct way to say that. But basically, you can wear it on either side, and the slit in the one tab to put the other end through is really cool. Now, if you’ve read about the cupcake and perused the comments, you’ll see that I’m not so bright all the time. Yeah, when I first put this item on, I tied it around my neck. Then I was examining it, and I felt the there was a slightly thicker part, and upon further inspection, I noticed the slit. So thankfully, the pictures show me wearing it properly:) Thanks to my husband for being patient and taking these pictures today:) But really after that, I started to realize that I have more appreciation for items like this than when I was younger. I only wish my grandma was still here so I could share my enthusiasm with her, and wear the sweater she made for me in front of her. It is kind of fitting that I remembered the sweater today. Her birthday was in October. And I am always thinking of her, but even more in October. I really miss her and I often wish that I had learned how to knit when she was still here with us, so I could share these thoughts with her as well. And on a lighter note, my hair isn’t as orange as I

 

pink alternative

 

believed it to be last week. It has taken me a few days to get used to, and once I styled it myself, I realized that I do like the color. Here is my attempt at getting a good shot, even though the light situation in our apartment leaves much to be desired.

This entry was posted in blog hub swap, hair, knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to hand knit gifts

  1. Vivianne says:

    Your grandmother’s sweater is lovely, such a nice color too; you are lucky you can still fit in it ! 😉 Does your sister still have hers ?

  2. pip says:

    …I’d get a few pretty ribbon changes and wear the sweater 🙂
    pipx

  3. Tammy says:

    very pretty, both the sweater and the scarf…yeah kids just don’t know what they have when they have it….

  4. accountantgrrl says:

    The sweater is lovely and I know that your grandmother would be proud that you will get some wear out of it now. 🙂

    That’s a very clever scarf.

    I’m participating in a swap where a handmade item is part of the swap package. I’m dying to see what my partner makes me.

  5. AC says:

    Those little scarves are so clever! I made about 4 similar ones last year for X-mas gifts, and the gals I gave them to claim they get compliments on them all the time. They could just be trying to butter me up for more handknits, though.

  6. MakingTime says:

    That was a very touching post. You’re lucky to have had such a close relationship with your grandmother and still have a sweater she made that looks so great on you! There are always regrets when someone dies, but I’m sure she knew you loved her and maybe she was even so wise as to know you would appreciate her handmade gifts more as you got older 😉

  7. suddenexpression says:

    Interesting story. I can’t believe you are lucky enough to still fit into that sweater, and it’s gorgeous! Love that cute scarf too! I’m going to have to see your hair in person, soon! (Which really means some knitting is in order!)

  8. nigel says:

    Very nice knitting. We have seen a sugnificant growth in knitting, rug hooking, felting and needlework at our studios over the past year or so. Good thing but its not just for older people. Many young people are trying their skills. Great to see crafts being talked about. http://blog.sidestreetstudio.com/wood/10-reasons-why-you-should-buy-local-arts-crafts/

  9. Mags says:

    I love your hair! Very brave, I wouldn’t dare doing something like that.

    And hurray for Grandmas! Mine haven’t ever made me anything to wear, but that’s only because they’re crafty in that sense. I get the most gorgeous birthdays cards though.

  10. Cute scarf! I don’t care for them too much myself, but I like the construction of it, so nifty!

    It’s a cute sweater!
    If you removed the ribbon would you have an interesting pattern from where the ribbon goes through?

Leave a Reply

