Yarrr for Finished Object Friday

I’ve finally finished one of my wonderful exciting long standing boring projects. I started this project in November of 2008. I was making it for my sister but now I’m really not sure who will receive it, if anyone. I have to say, this is my least favorite thing I’ve made so far.

never-ending circle blanket

The finished blanket measures 45″ by 45″, unblocked. Here is a link to my project page on Ravelry. I stopped working on this in December 2008. I picked it back up this past June, and I made myself work on it bit by bit each day. Or almost every day. It got to point where it took me 1 hour to get one round done. I’m not sure how many stitches I bound off, by the time the bind off came around, I didn’t want to count. I also did a different edge than the pattern called for. I did a seed stitch border, instead of a garter stitch border. I was trying to mix it up a little! My favorite part is the very center. After that, the yarn started to get kind of itchy and the colors are nice, but I should have added more pink I think:) I have one more FO as well. When I first saw the Citron in Knitty, I wasn’t all that impressed with it. But as more and more people started knitting it, I started to like it. Then Laura started one, and I fell in love with the yarn she used. She used the yarn the pattern calls for, you know, that really nice, soft, luxurious MMMMMMMalabrigo lace:) I dont’ have any of that YET:) and so I used something else. My project details are here. I made this for someone else, and I’m going to make another one in the same color, for yet another someone:) But I have a feeling I’ll be making one of these for me sometime in the future. Maybe in a hot pink, or a neonish green…I seem to have a lot of those two colors in lace:)

Teal-Grey Citron made with Valley Yarns 2/10 Merino Tencel

Now on with Day 4 of the blog swap:) My lovely swap partner, Susie, picked some scented incense and a holder:) I really like it too! I used some of it already and the entire house smelled good. She also put a candy cupcake in there. Now, I’m not sure what kind of candy it is? It is a hard cupcake, and my teeth kind of ache just thinking about it. But I’m sure one day, probably next week when I’m struggling to finish a Statistics test, I will go ahead and give it a try. I just don’t want to open it yet, because it looks so nice:) And once I take a bite out of it, well then I’ll just have to finish it won’t I?

more goodness from Susie!

more goodness from Susie:)

Make sure to check out Tami’s blog, where she is talking about her FO for Friday, and there are a few links to other people’s Friday FOs as well! We are going on a road trip tomorrow for some major fun in the snow! Yep, there is snow here, well, not right here. But a few hours away:) There will be snow here soon enough though! Maybe in a few weeks. I can’t wait to see how our dog handles it. Have a Happy Weekend!!

This entry was posted in blog hub swap, knitting, school. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Yarrr for Finished Object Friday

  1. Denise says:

    Your blanket looks pretty. I can see how it would be a monster to work on. I love the color of your Citron.

  2. Susie says:

    DON’T EAT THE CUPCAKE! I should have put it in the note! It’s a scented candle in the shape of a cupcake ;-).

    Oh my gosh. Hope I caught you in time, I don’t want anyone to break their teeth on my swap parcel.

    ps the blanket is beyond stunning!

  3. pip says:

    … that is hilarious!!!! lol… don’t eat it 🙂

    • atangledyarn says:

      yeah, when i got susie’s comment i was laughing soooo hard! i was truly puzzled about what kind of candy the cupcake was! 🙂 i keep laughing every time i think about it

  4. Shannon says:

    I think your blanket is beautiful. I know how it feels to start to dislike something by the time you are done knitting it, but usually it grows on you again after you’ve been done for awhile.
    I love the color you chose for the Citron too!

  5. Susie says:

    Hooray! A Swap Disaster averted! :-). (I was just thinking how well this swap had gone, and then I realised I might have inadvertently caused a Cupcake Casualty, eeeeek!).

  6. pamela says:

    I just followed your revelry link and opened my account so left you a comment there. Now I’m popping back to say well done, I really love this blanket!

    pamela x

Leave a Reply

