germany + ravelry

German Ravelry Meeting

I went to a German Ravelry meet up this past weekend in Backnang, Germany. This was the 2nd German Ravelry meeting, and I’m happy I was able to go. Backnang is about 2 1/2 hours away from where I live, but I didn’t mind the drive. Especially since I was really excited to see some yarn:) I think I’ve mentioned before that there are not that many yarn shops in my area. In fact, in my area there are NONE. The closest shop that sells yarn and supplies is approximately 30 minutes away. Which isn’t bad, but it isn’t the type of store that I’m used to from San Antonio, Texas. After that, the next closest shop is about another 30 minutes away, and they only sell one brand of yarn, which I thought was kind of odd. Anyhow, I was really excited to attend this meeting since I’ve never been to any type of knitting event before.

yarn pool

There was also a yarn pool. 1,566 skeins of yarn were donated and placed into a large inflatable pool.  There were drawings held on both days and if your name was called, you could go and fill a bag with as much yarn as you could. I saw these bags, they were pretty big. And stuffed to the very top. In fact, this isn’t that great of a shot, but see the yellow bag the woman to the right is holding?

free yarn!!

That is full of yarn she got for free from the yarn pool! At the end of the day on Sunday, anyone who was still there got a chance to grab what yarn was still left in the pool. We left around 1:30 and there was still quite a bit of yarn left over. And it was nice looking yarn! Really nice…

one of many yarn booths

OK, so after perusing all of the booths and trying to not buy anything until I’d seen everything (yeah right!) I came away with quite a few goodies. I didn’t take a picture of Everything because I did purchase some gifts, or should I say my husband made these purchases for me…:) I feel really lucky to have someone who doesn’t make me feel bad about a little obsession I may have with yarn.

yarn loot

Also, I’ve been working on a few projects here and there this past week, when I haven’t been doing massive amounts of homework. OK, maybe massive isn’t the right word, but it is a lot, and whenever I pull out the statistics book…I feel like it is a huge undertaking to get a grasp on what the heck is being said! I mean…scatterplots, boxplots, histograms…will I ever ever ever use this information?? So, when my brain gets fried I reward myself with a little knitting here and there, and I’m happy to report I’m 95% finished with the super super secret, but I won’t be able post a picture for a bit. It is for my blog-swap partner and I don’t know if she is reading this, so I will wait till she gets it to post my own pictures. I also started on the Citron, and I’m loving how it is turning out. Besides that, I’m 95% through with the boring circle blanket and I’m making slow progress my CPH.

This entry was posted in knitting, school. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to germany + ravelry

  1. knerdygirl says:

    That yarn pool sounds so fun! I’d love to go to an event like that.

    I feel like I am reading more and more often about Citron. I didn’t really see the appeal until I saw a shop sample recently, and now I definitely want to make one. It looks so wearable and stylish. It’s funny how I’ve seen a jillion pictures of it but wasn’t all that impressed until I saw it live. Sometimes I guess you need to see it in person I guess.

    Take care!

  2. Tammy says:

    That looks like alot of fun! I’m lucky enough to live in an area with many yarn shops, anywhere from 5 minutes to 45 minutes away…Also I can go to Rhinebeck pretty easily and Stitches East is close by for the next 2 years…..It is a sight for the senses!

  3. Looks like an Amaaaazing convention! How did you ever decide what yarn to get?!
    Lovely 🙂

  4. Hege says:

    Looks like a great place – and so much yummy yarn 🙂
    I have two yarn shops 15 minutes away, which is not bad. One of them have a great selection of yarn, even though it’s mostly norwegian and european yarn.

Leave a Reply

