wollmeise anyone???

I busted my commitment to not purchase any yarn from June 1 – Aug 31 (as mentioned a few posts ago) while I was in Venice, Italy. Prior to this, I discovered by complete accident that I live approximately 1 hour away from this place with the name of Rohrspatz & Wollmeise. When I first realized this, I thought, cool another shop I can check out, once September rolls around. But…I went to their website a few times and each time I read a little more, finally realizing that I had to check out their major sale happening this week. Now, I didn’t realize how popular this yarn is until Yesterday. I spent a few hours listening to various podcasts, I’m still trying out which ones I like and which ones I don’t, which reminds me, check out this one, sassypantsknitter, she is awesome! Down to earth, and I love listening to her. I also listened to electric sheep yesterday where this chic went to Knit Nation last weekend in London, and she mentioned Wollmeise and how there was almost a stampede when their booth opened up. Enough said, I decided I was going to check out this place Today.

yummy yummy wollmeise

All I can say is I want to go back. And I want to go back again after the sale when they have their regular stuff on the shelves. I had a sensory overload, I couldn’t decide what to get, and if I had had more money with me, I would have come home with probably double that which is shown in the picture. But…I do want to go back this week, and then again, and again, and again…:) This yarn is truly beautiful. The colors alone are amazing. My imagination was running wild while I was in there, trying to calculate which colors I wanted and what I was going to make and for whom. I’ve already decided I need to get enough purple to make the Haruni for my mom. She requested one in purple, and if ever there was a place to get a nice vibrant purple yarn, this is it! And what a deal! I went in the shop with 135 Euros. I came out with 9 skeins of yarn, and 5 Euro left. Just a quick breakdown, the 100% Merino Superwash  is 574 yards per skein, the Twin (80% Merino Superwash, 20% Nylon) is 510 yards per skein, and then I bought one big skein of laceweight superwash wool which is 1717 yards. Yeah, I got a lot of yarn, at a pretty good price.

fingerless gloves for el gordo

Oh, and as far as the WIPs Vs. FOs go, FOs are up by 1 as of yesterday:) You can see all the deets of all my projects on ravelry, I’m imaginethatanid.

This entry was posted in knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to wollmeise anyone???

  1. sillyfru says:

    Thanks so much for mentioning le podcast & Ohmehgawd, the yarn pron your scored is gorgeous!!!

  2. Kae says:

    I am So. Jealous. LOL

  3. suddenexpression says:

    We are so going again this week so I can join you!! Ummm….Friday good?

  4. Tammy says:

    OMG! This is like the Holy Grail on Ravelry!!! You really can’t get it in the States. You have to stay up for their updates on Thursdays and it’s really early in the morning…I luckily have 3 skeins….One I won in an auction and two were gifted to me. I’d love to be able to get another, as a friend mentioned they had never even seen it and asked if it would be at Rhinebeck….up for any trades???? Just thought I’d put it out there…..

  5. pip says:

    wow!! lucky you… I haven’t even managed to see one of these in the flesh (?) yet

Leave a Reply

