so much yarn, so little time

Dana, my husband, joked with me the other day that my first post here may be my last. Au contraire, that is not going to be the case. I’m working on the Gull Wing socks (see previous post for a pic), but my Nana’s Haruni is looking at me from across the room with sad puppy dog eyes. I haven’t picked it up in almost a week. Mainly because I have been sidetracked trying to figure out how to make this blog thingy look the way I want, playing some Asssassin’s Creed II (Dana’s fault), working on finishing the socks, and oh yeah…doing all that other “stuff” that has to get done.

Back in May I joined a group on ravelry, Summer Of Finished Objects (SOFO), and one of the main goals is to use what you already have on hand instead of purchasing more yarn. HA!! I signed up because I needed to finish several projects and I felt guilty about the number of things I had in progress at the moment. I also thought that by making a commitment to not buy any yarn from June 1-Aug 31 was a pretty good idea. I felt at the time that I had plenty of yarn and when I saw this group on ravelry it seemed that it was a good fit for me. Very important, is that in May, when I signed up, I was feeling as though I had too much yarn. OK, not really, but…my conscious was kicking in and saying, seriously, you need to finish up some stuff and use the yarn you already have before purchasing any more of this pretty stuff (I can try to fool myself right?). One thing I forgot to take into account when I signed up for this group was that Dana and I would be going on a cruise in July that started in Venice and stopped for one day in Croatia, and two days in two different parts of Greece. Once I remembered this, I thought that if I happened to see any yarn during our travels that I was going to keep an open mind and not feel bad about purchasing a skein or two. The day before driving to Venice, I did a google search for yarn shops in Venice, Croatia, and Greece. I found a shop in Venice, and so I wrote down the address. For Croatia and Greece, I read that yarn is in fact sold there, somewhere, but no specific address or store. Once we arrived in Venice, I was interested in seeing the sights, but foremost I wanted to see if we could find that yarn shop. According to the directions it was very close to our hotel. It took us about a minute to walk there from our hotel. Here is a snapshot.

lellabella

It is a lovely store, and the owners are super nice. I’d recommend checking it out if you are ever in the area. So, the first day we were in Venice walking around, I made a stop here and instead of picking up a skein or two, I ended up with a bag full of yarn. This shop has yarn made especially for them that you can’t get anywhere else. That is mostly what I bought (at first). After we dropped off my goodies at our hotel, we continued to walk around Venice and enjoy the sights. It was a really nice day, and we had a good time. Later on that evening I was thinking that I should have gotten some yellow yarn to make something for my Nana. She is Italian, yellow is her favorite color, and so far the only hand-knit item I have made for her is a yellow dishcloth, made out of Lily Sugar’n Cream Solid cotton. Nothing too fancy.

I mentioned that maybe we could go by the yarn store in the morning before heading over to the pier for our cruise. I just wanted to pick up something yellow for Nana and it would be so cool to make something for her with yarn I got in Italy, that was also made in Italy. Being the awesome guy that he is, Dana had no problem making another stop at lellabella. Well…on our way out of Venice I made another stop, and instead of ending up with a skein or two, I ended up with TWO more bags full of yarn.

Champagne, by Grignasco

One bag of just the yellow stuff (Champagne, by Grignasco), and another with stuff that I just wanted, just because. I don’t have a problem. I swear.  I bought quite a bit of this yellow yarn, mainly because I wasn’t sure exactly what I was going to make with it, and I didn’t want to run out:) This yarn is wonderful to work with, it is 75% merino wool, and 25% silk, which means it is very soft, smooth, and light. Perfect for my Nana who lives in Florida.

This entry was posted in knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to so much yarn, so little time

  1. suddenexpression says:

    Awesome picture!!! Did you take it? It looks great….

  2. atangledyarn says:

    hey laura thanks! yeah, i took both of these:)

Leave a Reply

