Day one

This is my attempt at tracking my thoughts about and adventures in knitting. There are several knitting blogs out there, and I enjoy reading many of them. I learned how to knit in July 2008. I was always semi-interested in this creative outlet, however, I was never interested enough to focus on learning how to knit. Until a few summers ago, when all of a sudden I decided I wanted to learn how to knit. I went to my local yarn store and signed up for a class! At the time I was living in Texas. I happened to have this urge to learn just as a new class was being offered. From then on I was pretty much addicted. I learn something new every day which is pretty exciting.  Currently, I am working on a pair of socks, from Chrissy Gardiner’s book Toe-Up! Patterns and Worksheet to Whip Your Sock Knitting Into Shape, called Gull Wing.

Ok, this isn’t the only thing I’m working on, but this is what I’m focusing on for today. Until my fingers are too sore, then I’ll switch over to another project most likely. I am also working on a Haruni for my Nana. If you are a member of Ravelry, then you can see my projects there as well under imaginethatanid.

This entry was posted in knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Day one

  1. Barb King says:

    Thanks for the info , like you I have the urge just haven’t the nudge yet. Hope fully in Yuma , so keep me posted and give me all the info., I need . I will be looking for that class when we get there. Pretty good daughter teaching Mother-in-Law. lol

  2. dana says:

    your blog is awesome!!!! i love it so much. oh, and i love you too. heh. great job party pants

  3. dana says:

    oh yeah. i forgot to subscribe. keep it up and stuff

  4. Roberta says:

    Oh, I like those socks, too! But how can you cover them up with a pair of shoes?? Welcome to the blogosphere.. between knitting and blogging you should have just enough time left over to eat and sleep! :>) I like the name, too – good job, Dana! Well, now I have you bookmarked so I’ve got one more thing to read every day. Or week. (Did I tell you that having a job has severely cut into my real life?) Love you and miss you.

  5. Courtneylyn says:

    I love my bag and my scarf, you are truly skilled at your yarn knitting stuff and they dont evem loook old ladyish. i am going to wear my bag to my psych dr.s appt tomorrow so that maybe i will look less crazy.

  6. ana says:

    great socks. love the yarn, but you know how that is 🙂

    i was taught to knit at a young age, and left it then picked it up a number of times over the years. nothing beyond the basic knit and purl. then i started following patterns and could NOT figure out why everything went wonky. that was discouraging so i tossed my needles aside for a few more years. what i didn’t realize is that i was taught to knit the “combination” method, which twists the stitches the other way. and i could not wrap my mind around the modifications patterns would need to make it work with my technique. so, finally, i taught myself plain ol’ normal continental and i’ve been able to follow patterns and try new things. still consider myself a beginner — it’s an interesting journey, this knitting thing, isn’t it? 🙂

    (and i always like to peek in on the first post, just to see where it all began!)

Leave a Reply

